Hiring the Shoe Store

So I finally got the hint…I’m hiring the shoe repair man to finish the top edge of all my bags. Well not so much hire as take advantage of his service.

The story of making a bag always turns out the same. I lay out my clothes that I will use, measure, cut, interface, then I start to sew. I will sew literally the ENTIRE bag and at the very last stitch that I make across the top edge of the bag to close it all up my sewing needle SMASHES against the metal face and falls into a place of stubborn refusal to go any further.  The first time it happened I was in Martha’s Vineyard!

This has happened at least 5 incredibly frustrating times!!!! And I’ve sent my machine, and machines I’ve borrowed, to a repair man at least 5 times! And you can only imagine how not having a sewing machine would be bad doing what I do. It’s like trying to sing after completely losing your voice. And whenever it happens it always makes me cry without fail. It’s just so infuriating.

So for the past month (actually longer but I don’t want to admit how long it’s really been…) I haven’t sewn that last stitch =/  I’ve actually sewn complete bags and left them sitting next to my sewing machine unfinished! Because I’m so SCARED!

Today I finally came to my senses and decided it was (far past) time to take action! I first went to a tailor/alteration/cleaner and she instantly denied my request. INSTANTLY. She didn’t know many English words but I got the message Very clearly. She told me to go to the shoe repair place that was close by and they’d be able to do it. Well not in so many words, but you get the jist.

So John is the new man in my life who I HOPE HOPE HOPE does a beautiful job placing that final stitch on the top of my/your bags! If so, I may have a legitimate partner in crime! *huge sigh of relief*

You’ll be the first to know how this endeavor turns out in the end!

Thanks for stopping by!

*****Each product is handmade from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at kimB@punKyj.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan
of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy
store
. Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hiring the Shoe Store

  1. kristin says:

    that looks painful.. for your sewing machine! glad you found a partner in crime

  2. Pingback: Mama Jackie’s “Myrtle Ray” Tote DONE! | By kimB

  3. Pingback: Lisa’s Live Nature Love Duffle Bag *DONE* | By kimB

  4. Pingback: Lisa’s Big as Can be Duffel! *Done* | By kimB

Leave a Reply

