Kelly’s Quilt! *Done*

Another quilt bites the dust!  This is my 2nd quilt order this year and the BIGGEST thus far.  The first order was for two baby type blankets but the same concept, they wanted the shirts on one side and colored fleece on the other.

And as always, a new project always brings on a new challenge.  In this particular case I assume could possibly be the first of many because I never actually met or spoke with the person who placed the order!  Normally I get a chance to sit down and chat in person and go over everything they want and we go back and forth with questions and idea’s.  (Personally one of my favorite parts!  Sometimes I just can’t shut up!)

The conversation is usually speckled with the phrase “I trust you, you’re the artist, and I’ll leave that up to you.”  Not gonna lie, it’s very flattering and I get excited when I have permissioned creative freedom =)  But everything in moderation right?

And I still somehow found my way…not the most direct way either!

My Sister in Law, who is also VERY crafty (check out her Zoodies!) came to visit after I’d finished all my cutting and had begun sewing, and began asking me questions.  Simple things like:

“How’d you cut all those squares?”

Me.

“…with scissors, a ruler and a yardstick?…”

At the sound of her *GASP* I instantly knew I’d done something terribly wrong!  Well apparently there’s this magic little gem called a rotary cutter that could have miraculously saved my life, aka…time.  Had I known it was only a small investment away I may have saved myself about a week…

Lesson learned.  Call Carlee FIRST!  Because I’m sure there’s more where that came from!

Anyhow, I think this quilt looks and feels GREAT!  Maybe it was all the man hours cutting those squares (with scissors) and applying the yarn, or because I like to toot my own horn whenever I get the chance, but I really do love this behemoth of a blanket and I’m hoping and PRAYING that they do too!

You will be the first to know if I see tears or sorrow instead of tears of joy!

Until then, thanks for stopping by! And enjoy!

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan
of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy
store
. Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kelly’s Quilt! *Done*

  1. Pingback: Analisa’s First Circle Scarf *Done* | By kimB

Leave a Reply

