My First BackPack! For Lisa’s *Done*

I am a pretty self confident person.  But from time to time I have mini freak outs.  And when Lisa came to me with a request from her daughter for a backpack my mind went racing.  I’d never made a backpack before and was running designs in my head before she even had a chance to finish her sentence!  So when she asked if I would do it, I’m pretty sure I just stared straight ahead for a few seconds before I said

…”Yeah…Uh…sure I’ve never done one, but I’m sure I can do that.  It may not look like a traditional backpack but it’ll be a backpack…=/”

Great answer right!  haha.  Luckily she trusts my creative instinct and let me get to it!

I picked the color combination first from my bag of options, but I really had to be strategic with what I chose.  Lisa gave me two bags of t-shirts and sweatshirts and was ordering a backpack, large duffle, tote, a pencil case (which I will soon be figuring out) and if I had anything left to make another bag/scarf/accessory.  So I had to make sure I didn’t use up all of the material on one bag and make sure I had enough for the rest, because the last thing I wanted to happen was to run out before I’d started one of the products!

For the style of this bag I wanted to keep it simple but still stylish.  I mean anything By kimB has got to have personality!  So I chose colors that were different but still complimentary to each other.  Usually I go for bold colors that do nothing but contrast but maybe I was relaxed that day =)

The pink accent on the front pocket came as a last minute decision.  I formed the pocket and sewed it into the front face of bag but it just didn’t look right.  The thread wasn’t working, the color contrast wasn’t satisfying, and I was unimpressed by the visual.  So I saw a pink shirt that I hadn’t used yet and decided I would make a sort of top covering for it.

I seam ripped the pocket off of the front face and side panel, started over and formed the pink t-shirt over the top.  Finally I loved what I was seeing.  It made such huge difference to the look of the bag.

I am also a big advocate for using the pockets already formed on the item, so on the back face I kept the kangaroo pockets from the sweatshirt attached because hey, when is an extra pocket a bad thing? =)

My main unexpected struggle with this bag was the shoulder pads on the straps.  I didn’t anticipate that this would be the hard part.  I bought some thin, what I thought was thin, foam at the fabric store to pad the straps with.  It wasn’t until I completed the bag completely that I was looking at it and thought…

“Wow…those pads look ridiculously fat.”

But I started to second guess myself and basically try to talk myself into thinking the super thick padding was a really good thing!  Fortunately my boyfriend came over on an impromptu visit and quickly squashed the mental progress I’d made to keep them as is, stating…

“It looks like a cartoon.”

FINE!  So again I had a seam ripping session and took them apart.  This time around I went to the thrift store (at 8 in the morning) with the intention to buy a bag or duffle of some sort to tear apart and use the foam padding in there.  I came across this camo green colored backpack and it had just what I needed.  (I was also so tired while I was shopping that I also bought a coffee maker and couldn’t help but buy a book, that is still sitting in the bag, while I was there.)

That ended up adding just as much support at half the size.  Just what I needed!

Although the initial concept of this project freaked me out, once I got started I felt like I hit my stride!  I won’t be adding this to the By kimB menu but now I can keep it in my back pocket if it ever presents itself again!

Such a great learning experience that turned out pretty well!  I hope you and your daughter like this bag Lisa!  And I that this bag will make her the coolest girl in school =)!

Enjoy!

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan
of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy
store
. Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in custom re-purposing, DONE, Handmade, Lisa's Free City Backpack, recycle, Uncategorized, upcycle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First BackPack! For Lisa’s *Done*

  1. Pingback: Lisa’s Big as Can be Duffel! *Done* | By kimB

  2. Pingback: Lisa’s band of bags! | By kimB

Leave a Reply

