Arches Tote

This is probably the most basic shaped tote I’ve made in a while.  Lately I’ve been getting orders for totes made from t-shirts and those typically lend themselves to a more vertical shaped bag.  Which I really like, I actually carry a vertical style messenger bag that I made for myself a while ago.  But when people think of a traditional tote bag it’s generally a horizontal version.  And that’s what I got to do this time =)

Every once in a while I like to try something new.  Actually more often than once in a while,  but the stars only aligned every once in a while for me to try something new, where I will finally have the time and space to try something different.

So this time I strayed away from the normal square pockets and put together some rounded edge pockets.  Maybe I was craving the golden arches of Mcdonalds (it’s been a while) but I really liked the idea =)  Just to change it up a little bit.  And with the dark colors and hard edges of the bag, it adds some flare and character.

With all the colorful bags and accessories I’d put together for Lisa, I decided that dark colors on white tote would be the best way to go on this one.  I didn’t try to do any major color accents or wild patterns, but to keep it interesting I tried to place the black and white strategically so it didn’t start to look imbalanced.

I reinforce all the handles on this tote as I usually do, but I wanted to make sure I did a little extra on this one because with the heavier sweatshirt material it will tend to pull.  So I  did two layers of reinforcement to hold the handles nice and strong so that they will last longer over time.  And since I interfaced both the lining and the outside paneling this tote should stay sturdy and stand tall!

I wonder if Lisa will keep this one too!  Or give it as a gift like she planned to do with the others =)

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan
of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy
store
. Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Arches Tote

  1. Pingback: Lisa’s band of bags! | By kimB

Leave a Reply

