O’Malley Kitchen Sink Quilts Completed!

It’s been a long __ months finishing these 3 quilts but it was worth all the effort =)

In the making of these quilts it was imperative that I get the construction of these pieces right.  I was hoping that I would properly represent each parent in each.  When I’d finished cutting all the squares from those giant boxes I laid out ALL of them on my floor, as you may have seen from my other pictures, and they engulfed my entire apartment!

I know these are traditionally called t-shirt quilts but with the diverse amount of clothing that were in those boxes I’m not sure what to call them!  There were robes, jeans, fancy button ups, Hawaiian shirts,etc…Everything but the kitchen sink!  Maybe that’s what I’ll call these quilts!  “Kitchen Sink Quilts!” haha

I separated them to the best of my ability, by color, texture and parent and thought I did a pretty great job.  But since I had such easy access to Katie, who lives less than 10 min away, I invited her over to make the final call on each quilt and the final layout.

We spent about an hour counting out Mom’s Shirts, Dad’s Shirts, Mom and Dad’s work shirts, robes, color squares, making sure each sister got an equal amount of each one (some things never change =)  and we were very successful in making them all balance.  In the end they all looked great!

For 3 beautiful sisters who have loved, lost and continue to love, have gone through the whole spectrum of emotion that it takes to grieve.  At this point in my life, I can only imagine the strength it takes to get through the tragedy of losing your parents.  But these girls are truly amazing, incredibly talented and as I said before, seriously beautiful people, so you can imagine how wonderful their parents were, and I wish them all the best.

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment.

And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan
of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter.

To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy
store
. Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in custom re-purposing, DONE, Handmade, tshirt quilt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to O’Malley Kitchen Sink Quilts Completed!

  1. Pingback: Tiffany’s Clutch The Story! | By kimB

  2. hautekokoa says:

    I definitely want to do something similar to this with all my daughters clothing from her first year of life. Maybe I can comission your expertise and magic hands as I can’t sew to save my life!! These quilts are such a beautiful way to remember someone you lost. Great job Kimmy!!

  3. Pingback: Katie’s 2nd Quilt! | By kimB

Leave a Reply

