Fabric Cutting Party

Three weeks ago we had a fabric cutting party with Kimmy! We had to cut fabrics for the products in the upcoming photo shoot, which has now been rescheduled for May.

We put on a movie and got to cutting the fabrics! I got to cut the floral pants, which I LOVE, for a makeup bag. I accidentally cut the makeup bag smaller than it should have been (oops), so who knows what Kimmy will do with it. Out of everything we bought from the shopping adventure at Thrift Town, those pants have to be my favorite. Next to the tourist jacket/shirt of course 😉

nikkiC also got to cut one of her favorite fabrics, which was a white and black striped jersey she found at a scrap store. I messed up the cutting for her too lol. But she did it first! (ahaha)

We both messed up that day.

We had major difficulty cutting the fabrics–MAJOR respect for designers and seamstresses and other people who sew, whether it be on their own, for their business, or for work in a factory because that cutting business is DIFFICULT. It took us almost one hour to cut each piece. Poor nikkiC had to cut jersey. If you sew or cut fabrics, you know how difficult jersey can be. Talk about frustration!

Oh and we were also privileged to try some apple cake that Kimmy’s friend’s mom made…SOOO good! She also made Peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. Unfortunately I’m allergic to peanuts so I couldn’t eat them, but they looked good though!

As I’m writing this post, I’m writing two more, so this should definitely be interesting.

-mari.K

p.s.

Sorry about the late post >_< bad intern!!!

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these bags even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment. And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter. To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

This entry was posted in custom re-purposing, Handmade, intern, Uncategorized, upcycle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

