Katie’s Cartoon Quilt

I just had a fun day playing tangrams with t-shirts all day long.  But literally.  I woke up.  Made coffee, went to target, the bank, and safeway, made soup, then sat down in front of my couch on the floor and went to work.

I always underestimate how long it takes to organize the t-shirts when making a quilt and today I was pleasantly reminded the time and planning everything takes.  And if you followed me long enough you’ll know that each project always presents its own challenges.

This quilt in particular presents it’s challenges with each and every t-shirt having a logo or graphic in a different size.  Katie and I had talked about how it would look cool if the quilt had blocks of all different sizes and have it all work together like a puzzle.

Well in a perfect world if each shirt was the same size and each logo was the same size I could make each shirt and measurement I like and place them as I see fit.  Unfortunately in the world we live in shirts are all different shapes and sizes and the logos take up all sorts of different spaces and everything is a different color.

So for this project every shirt had a place, and my job today was to figure out where each piece wanted to go.  It’s like they all already knew where they should go and I had the pleasure of figuring it out. haha

I totally found my groove and then got another shirt from Katie =)  Luckily I figured out how these shirts worked when I got the last shirt so it didn’t take me very long to work the last one into the mix.

I don’t know if I’ll get to cutting all these up this week but I’m shooting to have them cut mid next week.

PS. I don’t even think I’ve mentioned how much I love these 80’s baby t’s I’m so into Jem and the rockstars! =)

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these items even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment. And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter. To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in custom re-purposing, Handmade, in progress, recycle, tshirt quilt, Uncategorized, upcycle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Katie’s Cartoon Quilt

  1. Pingback: Katie’s Quilt *DONE* | By kimB

Leave a Reply

