Poletential Shop Night!

How exciting!  Earlier this month I was honored to be one of the vendors at Poletential‘s first shop night at their studio.

I must admit.  I was pretty nervous to present myself in person for the first time to strangers.  After 4 years of doing this I’ve never done a craft fair, house party or any of the other entrepreneurial things you’re suppose to do when you start a homemade business.

So I worked like a dog the week before and barely got any sleep getting some of these pouches done so I had more inventory to present on my little table.  I know those things are small, but boy do they take me some time to make!  Sleep was not had this week! =)

It didn’t occur to me until 11pm the night before that I needed to Merchandise my table and that I would have to find a table that would actually fit into my little Camry, so needless to say I was running around all night Thursday and all morning Friday trying to get all of my errands done in preparation for the Shop Night.

I arrived at night set up my little area and put my retail face on =D!  haha  I had major moments of flashback into being in my former retail stores, greeting people, handing out business cards and explaining to people what exactly it is that I do.  It was amazing to see all of the positive reactions to my little business.  People love the idea of making something out of things that they own, or from things that are really meaningful to them

It reminded me again why I love to do what I do.  It’s for the look on people’s faces when they start recounting all of the memories that they can save and make come to life again.  You can see the wheels start turning in their brain as they start imagining what their items would look like and how it would make them feel to carry a piece of that with them on a regular basis.

Over all it was a great experience and I had so much fun and got to sell some products!  I don’t have any of these events lined up, but next time I do I will be prepared! =)

Thank you to everyone who stopped by!

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these items even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com or leave a comment. And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter. To purchase visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in business, custom re-purposing, Handmade, Uncategorized, upcycle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

