Jolisa’s Tote and Clutches in Progess!

I’ve begun to cut, cut, cut and interface these pieces for Jolisa who I mentioned briefly in my Back on Track post and I swear I say this every time but I always laugh at myself because I always think I can get all of my items cut so quickly and it always takes forever!  I’ve been doing this for what?  4 years now?  And it still surprises me.  I think I just get so excited to work on new projects that I think my ambition will make it go faster haha.

I drew out all of the pattern pieces that I will need for this project in my handy dandy notebook just to make sure that I will have enough fabric for the 2 clutches and reversible tote that she ordered and it seems like it will be perfect.  All things considered I do need enough for lining as well.

During this project I finally gave up on the idea of using set patterns for my clutches because it’s really impossible when you are upcycling clothes.  I mean the pattern I used for my Samyama pouches were based off of left over/discarded scrap fabric, while these are being made from button up shirts, sports coats, slacks, vests, t-shirts etc… and there’s no way to just fold in half and blindly cut.

The only realistic way to get the clothes to do what I need them to do is to cut them all open so they lay flat, then see how much area I have to cut a square, which at times makes me red faced with frustration because I’m trying to fit a square peg in a round hole haha!

So far this project is going well.  The most interesting part has been deconstructing the sport coat,  there are so many seams and twists and turns it’s hard to get it to lay flat so I can cut out my needed shape.  I did find an area that worked well enough and ended up having to sew in a dart just so it wouldn’t pucker when it was laying flat.  Thank you Dr. Stark for teaching me how to make darts in my beginning sewing class in college.

I think these will turn out great!  Can’t wait to show you the finished product!

Enjoy!

*****Each product is handmade and re-purposed from second hand clothing and fabrics and is completely one of a kind, I couldn’t duplicate any of these items even if I wanted too! It’s my way of going green and staying in style.

As always you can e-mail me at K.Barnes@BykimB.com  to purchase or leave a comment. And if you’d like to view my complete collection become a fan of By kimB on facebook.

Or you can follow @BykimB on twitter. And visit my (still under construction) website BykimB.com or etsy store.

Thank you for stopping by and please enjoy these designs By kimB!

About kimB

Taking things apart and putting them back together to look and function like something else makes me think that change is possible. Powered by website analytics technology.
This entry was posted in custom re-purposing, Handmade, in progress, recycle, Uncategorized, upcycle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jolisa’s Tote and Clutches in Progess!

  1. Pingback: Jolisa’s Tote and Clutches *DONE* | By kimB

Leave a Reply

